Rise and Shine – Caffeine and Octane

Maybe it just takes a special kind of car nut to get up early on the first Sunday of almost every month and drive 40 miles to a car show. Maybe I’m just a nut.

The alarm rang early on this Sunday. It was the first Sunday of the month and first Sunday of the year. I gave myself some extra time to get ready and was able to stop and grab breakfast on the way in. I arrived at the REI parking lot around 6:15. I set that as a gathering place to make it easier for people to arrive together for parking. Not too many people showed up. That wasn’t surprising for the winter. It was good to see familiar faces and a couple of new faces. We started our cars and drove the last half mile to Perimeter Mall, the current location for the show. We parked our cars, and Scott helped me set up the Z flag. It serves as a good landmark for other Z cars.

Usually the cold months reduce the crowds at C&O and bring out some unique cars. Well, the crowd was strong today. Maybe people just needed to get out of the house after the holidays and rain. Sure it was cold, but it didn’t seem that cold to me. Some more friends gathered around where we parked, and a couple of more new faces showed up, as well. People came and went as they sought out breakfast and looked at cars then returned to see if any other Z cars arrived. Soon, the lots were pretty full, and the sun was lighting up the sky enough to start photographing.

I started with the older Z cars parked near me and moved over to the main lot. There were a lot of old hot rods, old trucks, and other classic cars. These are the cars that catch my eye the most. After I returned, I chatted with my Z car friends until the cold got to them, and they departed. I stayed around a little while longer, answering questions for passers-by, opening the hood for the curious, and listening to Z car stories from people who remembered when they had one. I told some people about the next Georgia Z Club meeting. I hope they show up and get to share their Z car experiences with the whole club.

Caffeine and Octane 2016-01-03 116

Caffeine and Octane 2016-01-03 007

Caffeine and Octane 2016-01-03 005

Caffeine and Octane 2016-01-03 004

Caffeine and Octane 2016-01-03 003

Caffeine and Octane 2016-01-03 002

For more Caffeine and Octane photos, go to my car photography blog.

This entry was posted in 260Z, 280Z, Caffeine & Octane. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rise and Shine – Caffeine and Octane

  1. Pingback: Caffeine and Octane – January 2016 | Georgia Z Club

  2. George Witman says:

    Hi,
    I have three 280ZXs I would like to sell. All three are in Nevada, two are model year 1980 and one is a 1981 Turbo. Can you recommend someone who might be interested in buying them, or suggestions for someone with experience in selling these?
    Thank you!

  3. George Witman says:

    Thank you very much! Your advise is much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

