Dallas Autorama 1998

Update on 2/23: I found the HTML file from when I originally posted these pictures 15 years ago. I put the original text in italics below the pictures.

I first found out about the Dallas Autorama in time to make it to the 1997 show. While I was there, I was pleasantly surprised to see a display of Z cars manned by the Z Club of Texas. The next year, I signed up to work some time at the display. It was a great way to spend the day.
I managed to find a couple of Z Whiz Hot Wheels that day, too. When I went in 97, Steve Richardson from Courtesy Nissan was showing off some somewhat beat-up Zcars that he found around the toy sellers. So when I found those two nice Z Whiz cars, I had to show them off to Steve. He immediately let me know that I was #1.
TOY_Z
Digital cameras didn’t have very good quality back then, but that old Kodak DC120 camera captured some images that are still around today.

300ITS

ZCOT73

ZCOT73_2
I wish I had the money, time and patience to get my 73 240Z looking this good. The modifications I could see were round-top carbs and less-restrictive air cleaners. Beautiful.

ZCOT72

ZCOT72_2
This amazing specimen is one of the first of the refurbished Z cars. This 72 240Z was presented to Bill Wiley by his wife during the celebration at Texas Motor Speedway for this unprecedented program. Now that’s my definition of a loving wife.

ZCOT280Z
Now here’s a special number. It’s a 1980 10th Anniversary 280ZX owned by Linda Hood. She should be proud of how well she has taken care of this car. All of us guys could learn a thing or two from her.

ZCOT300
This is Steve Ham’s daily driver. I didn’t see any modifications to it, but that’s one of the great things about Z cars. You can have fun keeping them stock, or…

350ZXR
You can create your own monster, like Bill Reagan did. He calls this a 350ZXR. I call it unbelieveable! Along with the 350 and Turbo Hydromatic Transmission, it has a beautiful custom interior and exterior. This car has been featured in Z Car Magazine, and it’s for sale, $9800 obo. Email me with your name and number if you’re interested, but you better be serious.

ZCOT300Z
Here’s a daily driver 300ZX. I haven’t really been much of a fan of the more sophisticated, newer Z’s, but looking at more like this one could change my mind.

Addendum:
I forgot to add the pictures of the 72 that Courtesy Nissan had on display. It was for sale for $30,000 back then. Lord, I was tempted to pull the trigger. They were one of the 10 Z Stores when Nissan did their program with the 240Zs and Z32s.
72NEW1

72NEW2
Courtesy Nissan had a display with a late model 300ZX and this refurbished 72 240Z. They added air conditioning to it. These people are great. I bought plenty of stuff from them. I’ll probably be buying even more in the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dallas Autorama 1998

  1. Pingback: From the Wayback Machine

Leave a Reply

