Taking Shape

I am making preparations for future posts. If you go through the Body Electrical (BE) sections in the 74 through 78 factory service manuals (FSMs), you’ll find that Nissan did a nice breakdown of where the wires were in the various connectors. Unfortunately for 240Z owners, the early FSMs lacked this detail. I am going to fill in what Nissan left out. This will not happen overnight.

I am doing the drawings in Visio. The first thing I started on was making a stencil with the connectors and electrical components that I would need. I modeled my objects from the 72 & 74 FSMs. I have been trying to make them detailed enough that people will be able to follow them and diagnose their own electrical systems, provided the car is stock.

Here is a small sample of the objects I created.
Drawing Sample

I will publish the results in JPG and PDF.

My first target is the 72 240Z hazard light/turn signal/brake light circuits.

Please leave me a comment if there is a particular circuit you would want to see. If I get enough feedback, it will influence my efforts.

By the way, I could use a little help. If you have a 1970 or 1971 FSM, could you contact me? I would love to get copies of the EE and BE sections to help my documentation effort.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking Shape

  1. Pingback: Starting the Documentation

Leave a Reply

